Notes from Korea / Grieg Piano Concerto

Event Details:

Location: Paramount Theatre

Date: Friday, November 15, 2019

Time: 8 pm


Gabriel Fauré 
Pavane in F sharp minor, Op. 50  

Edvard Grieg
Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16

I. Allegro moderato
II. Adagio
III. Allegro moderato molto e marcato

Changyong Shin, piano


Texu Kim 

Jean Ahn
The Woven Silk for haegeum and orchestra

Soo Yeon Lyuh, haegeum

Texu Kim
Blow, Fly, Pop!!


Approximate concert length: 1 hour, 50 minutes including one intermission

Michael Morgan

Music Director Laureate

Jean Ahn


Texu Kim


Soo Yeon Lyuh

haegeum player

Changyong Shin


Absorb the sounds of Korea. The haegeum has mesmerized for a millennium. Jean Ahn’s Concerto for this ancient folk instrument delicately spins silken lines of sound in communion with the Orchestra.  Two works by Texu Kim bring the worlds of the west and Korea together, symphonic poems of this age, drawing on impressions of the past.   Plus, Grieg’s beloved Piano Concerto with one of Korea’s finest keyboard artists.

Price Level A $90
Price Level B $68
Price Level C $52
Price Level D $40
Price Level E $25

Concert Piano provided by:

Hospitality Sponsor: