Amy Beach / Underground Railroad

Event Details:

Location: Paramount Theatre

Date: Friday, May 15, 2020

Time: 8 pm


Symphony No. 2, Gaelic
Amy Beach


Sanctuary Road
Music by Paul Moravec
Libretto by Mark Campbell
Inspired by William Still’s “The Underground Railroad Records”
Commissioned for and by The Oratorio Society of New York through the generous support of Joanne Spellun

Hope Briggs, Soprano
Melody Wilson, Mezzo-soprano
Noah Stewart, Tenor
Phillip Harris, Baritone

Oakland Symphony Chorus
Dr. Lynne Morrow, Chorus Director


Approximate concert length: 2 hours, including one intermission

Michael Morgan

Music Director & Conductor

Hope Briggs


Melody Wilson


Noah Stewart


Phillip Harris


Lynne Morrow

Chorus Director

Oakland Symphony Chorus

Contemporary with Dvorak’s “New World” Symphony, Amy Beach’s American masterwork of the late 19th century is too rarely performed, but Oakland Symphony patrons overwhelmingly voted to give Ms. Beach’s Gaelic Symphony a hearing. This final concert of the season also includes an epic, moving oratorio performed with the Oakland Symphony Chorus, based on the writings of the hero of the Underground Railroad, William Still.

Price Level A $90
Price Level B $68
Price Level C $52
Price Level D $40
Price Level E $25
Buy Tickets

Concert Sponsor: