Michael Morgan Presents: An Evening of Music by Valerie Coleman, A Benefit for Oakland Symphony

Event Details:

Location: Piedmont Center for the Arts

Date: Saturday, January 18, 2020

Time: 7 pm


An Evening of Music by Valerie Coleman is an intimate, hour-long performance of music by award-winning composer Valerie Coleman, including a premiere of Coleman’s “Amazonia”, an elegy for the Amazon forests in the wake of climate change. Coleman’s work will be performed by Oakland Symphony musicians, Amy Likar (flute) Diane Maltester (clarinet) and Miles Graber (piano). 

Maestro Michael Morgan will accompany the music, this time as narrator, reciting poems by Langston Hughes.

The performance will be preceded by food offerings by renowned Chef Charlie Vollmar. A cooking class for twelve with Chef Charlie Vollmar will also be auctioned off. 

A portion of the funds raised through ticketing will go to Oakland Symphony.

7:00p – Pre-Concert (food offerings with Chef Charlie Vollmar)

8:00p – Concert


Valerie Coleman 

Danza de la Mariposa (2008)

Portraits of Langston (2007)
Based on the poems of Langston Hughes For Flute, Clarinet, and Piano with Narration

I. Prelude: Helen Keller
II. Danse Africaine
III. Le Grand Duc Mambo
IV. Silver Rain
V. Parisian Cabaret
VI. Harlem’s Summer Night

Amazonia (2019)
Simultaneous co-premiere 

Performed by Amy Likar, flute, Diane Maltester, Clarinet and Miles Graber, piano
With Narration provided by Michael Morgan 

Approximate concert length: 1 hour

Michael Morgan

Music Director Laureate

Valerie Coleman


Amy Likar, Diane Maltester, and Miles Graber

General Admission $100