Mass for Freedom by Michael T. Roberts

Commissioned by Oakland Symphony

World Premiere by Oakland Symphony on April 13, 2019
at First Congregational Church of Oakland

Dr. Lynne Morrow, Conductor & Chorus Director

Featuring Oakland Symphony Chorus
with Members of Oakland Symphony Orchestra

Commission Underwritten in part by
Friendship Fund
Pacific Harmony Foundation
Charlie Crane

World Premiere Performance and Video Underwritten in part by
Lisa Braver Moss & Mark Moss

Special thanks to
Mary-Jo Knight
First Congregational Church of Oakland

Program Notes and Text



I Kyrie – Come by Here

II Gloria – Woke Up This Mornin’ With My Mind Stayed on Freedom

III Credo – Ain’t Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me ‘Round

IV Sanctus – Ain’t Got Time to Die

V Agnus Dei – We Shall Overcome

Make a gift here.