Tchaik 5 & Brothers in Arts

Event Details:

Location: Paramount Theatre

Date: Friday, November 7, 2014

Time: 8:00 pm


Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64

Chris Brubeck & Guillaume Saint-James
Brothers in Arts: 70 Years of Liberty (West Coast Premiere)
New work for Jazz Quintet & Orchestra

Chris Brubeck, composer/trombone
Guillaume Saint-James, composer/saxophones
Jerome Seguin, bass
Didier Ithursarry, accordion
Christophe Lavergne, drums
Vocal Rush vocalists:
Jada Banks Mace
McKenna Lindell Wright
Nelly Ake

Michael Morgan

Music Director Laureate

Chris Brubeck

composer/ trombone

Guillaume Saint-James

composer/ saxophones

Jerome Seguin


Didier Ithursarry


Christophe Lavergne


Please note: This concert coincides with an Oakland “First Fridays” event. The area near the Paramount Theatre will be especially busy tonight. Telegraph Avenue will be closed from West Grand to 27th Street. Click here for detailed street closure map.

Pre-concert talk: 7:00 pm with John Kendall Bailey, Chris Brubeck and Guillaume Saint-James in the main concert hall

Multi-talented jazz artists Chris Brubeck and Guillaume Saint-James, whose fathers shared the same experience in France during World War II, team up to bring us this exciting new work for jazz quintet and orchestra. Written collaboratively as an homage to their fathers and a commemoration of the fateful events of D-Day, Brothers in Arts features the intriguing combination of trombone, saxophone, accordion, bass and drums with the rich, full sound of our outstanding orchestra. Along with Tchaikovsky’s great, iconic Fifth Symphony, this is an Opening Night you just can’t miss!

“[Chris Brubeck is] a composer with a real flair for lyrical melody – a 21st Century Lenny Bernstein.” – Chicago Tribune

Brothers in Arts is a project of Orchestre Symphonique de Bretagne, commemorating those who participated in the liberation of France in 1944.  Orchestre Symphonique de Bretagne is proud to partner with Sinfonia Gulf Coast and the Oakland East Bay Symphony in commissioning this work.

Note: This concert will be simulcast at no charge on The Great Wall of Oakland. You can also view the free live webcast at home at and at the Craneway Pavilion in Richmond.

Click for details.

Thank you to the generous businesses that help make our exclusive Baton Society Wine Bar and post-concert receptions truly special. This month, our dessert sponsor is Louise’s Kitchen and our wine sponsor is J.Lohr Vineyards and Wines. Please support them throughout the season!

Audio and video clips:

Tchaikovsky Symphony No.5

Leonard Bernstein conducts the Boston Symphony Orchestra

Price Level A $70
Price Level B $55
Price Level C $38
Price Level D $32
Price Level E $20
Student Discount Tickets (Available 10/31 - limited number) $10
See Seating Chart »

Concert Sponsors:

Media Sponsors:

Season Guest Artist Accommodations:

The 2014/15 season is supported by grants from: