How Are Musicians Made?
Friday, October 9, 2020

Make a gift here.

New Commission in Process:
Bodies on the Line: The Great Flint Sit-Down Strike
Monday, September 7, 2020

A look behind the scenes at the creation of a new oratorio called Bodies on the Line: The Great Flint Sit-Down Strike. This new commission for Oakland Symphony is nearly complete, with a premiere date yet to be determined. The Salon explores the composer and librettist’s creative process, the material that inspired the work, and a “workshop” performance that previews the finished work!.

Maestro Michael Morgan,
Oakland Symphony Music Director and Conductor

Martin Rokeach, Composer
Rebecca Engle, Librettist
Peter Cole, Labor historian

With performances by:

Taylor Stayton,
Derrick Fox, Baritone
Sharon Campbell, Mezzo-soprano
Stacie Haneline, Piano

Make a gift here.