Renshaw & Rachmaninoff

Event Details:

Location: Paramount Theatre

Date: Friday, October 2, 2015

Time: 8 pm


Mason Bates Devil’s Radio – West Coast Premiere

Prokofiev Violin Concerto no. 2
   (Kenneth Renshaw, violin)

Brahms: Liebeslieder Waltzes (selections conducted by
Lynne Morrow, Oakland Symphony Chorus Director)

Rachmaninoff Symphonic Dances

Michael Morgan

Music Director Laureate

Dr. Lynne Morrow

chorus director

Kenneth Renshaw


Two internationally acclaimed local artists–composer Mason Bates, who has worked with the Symphony since early in his career, and Menuhin Competition winner and Crowden School alumnus Kenneth Renshaw–take the stage for what promises to be a sensational season opening. Bates’ Devil’s Radio (2014) swings and grooves from quietly propulsive to shimmering melodic “lures” to a bluesy bassline. “One of the premier young violinists in the world,” according to SF Classical Voice, Kenneth Renshaw brings a formidable technique and interpretive flair to Prokofiev’s virtuoso concerto. Oakland Symphony Chorus Music Director Lynne Morrow celebrates ten years on the podium conducting Brahms’ lyrical Liebeslieder Waltzes, after which the soaring melodies, driving rhythms and lush harmonies of Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances complete the evening.

Pre-Concert Activity:

6:50 pm – 7:00 pm
Canadian born violinist Alicia Venables, winner of the 2012 National Chamber Class at the Canadian National Music Festival, performing onstage.

7:00 – 7:30 pm
John Kendall Bailey discusses the music on the program.


7:05 – 7:40 pm
Lobby performances by Heads Up and Today’s Future Sound.

Heads Up is a Head-Royce School partnership with the Oakland Unified School District.

Today’s Future Sound, uses music production and media arts as vehicles through which to empower youth as artists and community members.

ravenswood_1Thank you to our Concert Wine Sponsor,
Ravenswood Winery in Sonoma,
for providing wine for the Baton Society Wine
Bar and Post-Concert Reception!

Audio and video clips:

Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2

Because you can never go wrong with David Oistrakh as soloist.

Brahms Liebeslieder Waltzes

In their original form these pieces were done by a quartet of singers and piano four-hands. I am citing this version because the pianists are two of the 20th centuries most admirable musicians: Dinu Lipatti and Nadia Boulanger.

Rachmaninoff Symphonic Dances

Kiril Kondrashin is scarcely remembered these days but was one of Russia's greatest conductors.

Price Level: A $75
Price Level: B $60
Price Level: C $45
Price Level: D $35
Price Level: E $20

Concert Sponsor:

Media Sponsors:

The 2015/16 season is supported by grants from: