Gershwin & Shostakovich

Event Details:

Location: Paramount Theatre

Date: Friday, January 23, 2015

Time: 8:00 pm


George Gershwin
Piano Concerto in F major

Richard Glazier, piano

Dmitri Shostakovich
Symphony No. 8 in C minor, Op. 65


Michael Morgan

Music Director Laureate

Richard Glazier


Student discount tickets are now available in Orchestra Rear NN- VV and Balcony Rear U-Z.

Pre-concert talk: 7:00 pm with Richard Glazier in the main concert hall

Award-winning pianist, cultural historian and Gershwin specialist Richard Glazier will join us for the vibrant, rhythmically exciting Concerto in F, widely regarded as Gershwin’s most successful fusion of classical, jazz and popular music. This tour de force concerto is paired with Shostakovich’s monumental Eighth Symphony, performed by Oakland East Bay Symphony for the first time. This sometimes dark, emotionally complex work reflects Shostakovich’s response to the war in Russia, delivering a message of hope and beauty in the face of tragic circumstances.

“Gershwin’s piano music has found an exquisite voice in Richard Glazier.” – Clavier Magazine

Thank you to the generous businesses that help make our exclusive Baton Society Wine Bar and post-concert receptions truly special. This month, our dessert sponsor is Cakes Made by M.E. Please support them throughout the season! Please also note: this month’s post-concert reception will be held in the Grand Lobby instead of the downstairs lobby.

Audio and video clips:

First Rehearsal

Here is a quick sneak preview of the Orchestras first rehearsal on Tuesday night.

Richard Glazier on PBS NewsHour

Jeffrey Brown's interview with Richard Glazier from The Gershwin Room at the Library of Congress. Glazier went back to George Gershwin's piano 35 years after he played on the same piano for Ira Gershwin in his Beverly Hills home.

Gershwin Concerto in F

There are recordings with better sound, but this performance from 1960 makes up for the sound quality with great stylistic authenticity and intelligent sincerity. Andre Kostelanetz is conducting and Andre Previn is the extraordinary soloist.

Shostakovich Symphony No. 8

Mravinsky premiered this symphony and was always its greatest interpreter. Michael Morgan was lucky enough to see one of his last performances of it, in Vienna with the then Leningrad Philharmonic.

Price Level A $70
Price Level B $55
Price Level C $38
Price Level D $32
Price Level E $20
See Seating Chart »

Concert Sponsor:

Media Sponsors:

Season Guest Artist Accommodations:

The 2014/15 Season is supported by grants from: