Brahms/Sphinx Virtuoso CANCELLED

Event Details:

Location: Paramount Theatre

Date: Friday, March 20, 2020

Time: 8 pm


Samuel Coleridge-Taylor

Felix Mendelssohn
Violin Concerto 

Rubén Rengel, violin
2018 Sphinx Competition Winner


Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 4

Pre-concert talk from stage by John Kendall Bailey at 7:05 pm

Approximate concert length: 1 hour, 50 minutes including one intermission

Michael Morgan

Music Director Laureate

Rubén Rengel


The great strength and nobility of Brahms’ Fourth – and final – Symphony place it among his most profound achievements. Michael Morgan and the Oakland Symphony present their first performance of this masterwork. Plus, Rubén Rengel,the dazzling, young Venezuelan virtuoso and 2018 Sphinx Competition winner, will thrill in Mendelssohn’s beloved Violin Concerto.

Price Level A $90
Price Level B $68
Price Level C $52
Price Level D $40
Price Level E $25